‘Is there a home in the world?’

Is there a home in this world

for the woman who carries the seeds of love

in her womb?

Is there a home for the woman

who stands up and says:

‘Wars within wars without end

must end.’

‘Haven’t we sacrificed enough?

Enough young conscripts?

Enough children?

Enough mothers and fathers?

Enough animals?

Enough of the Earth

already enough?’

Is there a home in this world

for the woman who says:

‘I stand up for right livelihood.

The making and selling of arms is not good,

the pillaging of another country’s wealth is not good,

the enforced slavery of men and women is not good.’

Haven’t we sacrificed enough?

Enough meadows and rivers

and streams

and mountains and forests.

Already, enough.

Enough of our future,

for present gain,

enough.

Is there a home in this world

for the woman who says:

‘The time of dominion must end,

we must humble ourselves

to the Earth.’

For the woman who says:

‘You may cover me in thick robes,

you may stamp me into the ground;

you may stop up my mouth;

you may hide my breasts,

you may despise my womb.

You may destroy me.

This Earth, this singular planet

but still

I am the brown seed that will flame

into the green leaf;

I

am

the

living God.’

© IDF Andrew
HeartsSong

 
Leave a Reply

