What the old woman on the train told me without saying a word

I met a woman on a train, a day of sun, a hint of rain.

And though she did not say a word, she told me about growing old.

She was a little plump and round, and while we sat, she made no sound.

Between us a few minutes passed, and yet my feelings of her last.

The very air she breathed was kindness, I felt humility and mildness.

Somehow I felt she had a knowing, an ordinary woman glowing,

as into the landscape we were flowing.

Through end of February trees, branches stirring in a cold breeze.

past mountains lit in ochre gold.

Her face is lined for she is old, yet this is what she me foretold,

there is no fear in growing old.

I felt no underlying guile, and every now and then, she’d smile.

Sometime I saw her turn away, to the window,

absorb the day.

As if the mountains we passed through, held memories for her deep and true.

After life’s hammering and smelting, I felt her soul was gently melting.

Into the landscape we both flowed,

without a word, she me foretold,

there is no fear in growing old.

 © IDF Andrew

4 responses to “What the old woman on the train told me without saying a word

Leave a Reply

