‘If I could’ a tender little song

A little song I wrote for a suffering friend some time ago and that I sing to my self when feeling melancholy or disconsolate ….

(Am)

If I could
I would garland you
with flowers;
I would soothe away
the pain from the minutes and the hours;
if
I could;
I would garland you with flowers.

If I could

I would lead you to a sylvan glade;

of dappled light and shadows made;

I see you walking by a crystal stream:

in a living dream.

And

if I could,I would lie you down
in golden grasses,
of a summer’s day that never passes.

At last your heart
would really sing;
with the peace
that passeth all understanding.

If

I could

I would garland

you

with flowers.

Ingrid Andrew<> HeartsSong

Leave a Reply

