If I was that girl

If I was that girl; tall, elegant,

long limbed, with ice blue eyes,

and long blond hair;

still

on the threshold of her life.

 

What couldn’t I do?

What wouldn’t I do?

 

If I was that girl,

with her long, shapely thighs, and unmarked face,

and ice blue eyes.

 

Yet,

here I am, writing,

in the cafes white light, on the bright page,

crumpled, and now,

older than middle aged.

 

Held in the year’s inevitable

embrace,with joys and sorrows

marked upon this body,

and this face,

just as I am

now.

 

 

 

©
IDF Andrew
(heartssong)

Leave a Reply

