The Bird of my Heart

Rising from where?

This deep heart ache. This tight knot of pain.

All through the day,
while, outside the sky is iron grey.

And the rain falls hour after hour.

Hour after hour, all through the day;
while I carry out my ordinary tasks,
and wash and cook, this little knot of anguish
twisting in my heart.

And so I carry my self carefully,
holding this fluttering, wounded bird.

And see today I am not of this world.

For a moment the rain lifts;
upon the horizon, the scalded clouds,
the deepening green of the trees on the cusp of May.

And all I can do is be patient; contain and hold this pain.

All I can do is wait.

All I can do is cradle my self like a hurt child.

Till the storm passes. Till the waves calm.

Till the bird of my heart is settled and still again.

And comfortable and feathery in her bones.

©    Ingrid Andrew <> HeartsSong

‘Heaven’s morning breaks and Earth’s vain shadows flee;
In life, in death, o Lord, abide with me ……

Our longing is to realize and embody loving presence, yet we each have deeply conditioned habits that bind our hearts. This talk reflects on these habits, and explores how we can free ourselves by bringing a mindful, compassionate attention to places where we are most trapped in feeling separate, fearful and unworthy.

Tara Brach

Part 2: The Sure Heart’s Release (Audio)

 http://www.tarabrach.com/audioarchives2013.html

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

