My heart is light

 

Today, this morning, still;

‘I celebrate my self’*

 

My singing heart.

 

Friendship, and Spring.

 

I celebrate my heart.

 

For the light is come; infuses everything.

 

Just for a while, the winds and rain have gone.

 

The air’s imbued with calmness.

 

Everywhere, flowers bloom, the city’s little side streets

are festooned with blossoming, haloed trees.

 

I walk along, arm in arm, with tenderness;

with human frailty.

 

Needing nothing at all, just the gift of this day;

this simple sense of profound contentment.

 

We are called upon to linger, to put work aside,

to let our selves be infused with this day’s light.

 

The gift of light heartedness.

 

 

 

  • Walt Whitman

 

 

 

 

 

©  Ingrid Andrew <> HeartsSong

 

 

Leave a Reply

